Message us
+1 (647) 493-8441
Ukraine (Kyiv)
+380 044 364 8380

Province of Saskatchewan gained its fame due to the vast wheat fields, sand dunes and a rectangular shape. Sharply continental climate and spacious prairie made this province memorable by its magnificent sunsets.

Historically, the indigenous people of North America – the Indians, inhabited the province; European settlements did not take root in this area until the end of the 18th century. The district received its name from the eponymous river, which in the Cree language originally meant “swift flowing river”.

The population is about 1.5 million people, half of whom live in the two largest cities: Saskatoon and the capital city of Regina. The latter is located in a dehydrated desert area, so since the beginning of settlement, there were many dams built and every available square meter of land was worked.

The capital was founded in the late 19th century in the center of the province. The name is derived from the locally widespread shadberry shrubs (Saskatoon berry), the fruits, which were used in the manufacture of wine, and more recently to create a cardiovascular group drugs.

Saskatchewan economy is based in part on the oil and uranium processing and more importantly – on the agricultural production of cereals, particularly wheat. In spite of the sudden changes in climate, with temperatures ranging from 40 °C to -40 °C depending on the season, local national parks have been preserved in excellent condition. Thus the Wanuskewin Heritage Park has been a National Historic Site since 1986, it contains a variety of exhibits on the way of life of the Indian tribes.

The motto of the province is: “Strength from Many Peoples“.